Norwegian: word order in clauses

optimistique

I have a question about the word order in Norwegian clauses. I find it quite unclear what the correct order is and if there may be multiple possibilities in some cases.

For example in the following sentence, do you place the verb at the end or do you keep the order of the main clause?

- Han tenkte at du gikk bort OR - Han tenkte at du bort gikk ???

And if the first is correct, is there ever a case when the verb is put at the end of the sentence?

Thanks in advance for any replies:)

• Annwn

Swedish - Skånska;Portuguese - Portugal
    I´d say the first sentence is correct, Han tenkte att du bort gikk sounds a bit weird to me..."Bort" is a kind of continuation for the verb, because it suggest where the person went..no? It may be logical that the verb would come first...

But let´s wait until someone can actually explain why it is that way (if it indeed is...):p Since I have no grammatical knowledge of norwegian...just giving my humble opinion. ^^ hihi

optimistique

Thanks for your comments.:)

I guess so, that the first sentence may be the good one (btw, I now think that it's "tenket" and not "tenkte" but I'm not sure.).

Still I'm really interested if there are any situations in Norwegian where there is verb-final in the clause (the verb is put at the end of the sentence).
    Are there no native(-like) speakers of Norwegian to comment?
    It would be greatly appreciated.

sdr083

Norwegian (NN)
    Heihei!

The first sentence is the best, but using the word "tenke" in this context is a bit weird in Norwegian. It doesn't mean exactly the same as English "think". "Trodde" (from "tro") is much better.

Norwegian is generally a V2 language, meaning that the verb is usually the second syntagm in a sentence.

Han gikk. ("Han" = first syntagm, "gikk" = second syntagm)
    I går gikk han. ("I går" = first syntagm, "gikk" = second syntagm)

Verb-final clauses are not common in Norwegian.