All Slavic languages: blue

DaleC

I am curious about the words Slavic languages have for the color "blue".

Here is a question I have had since I studied Russian, over 30 years ago. They taught us that the Russians do not think of голубой (goluboj), the color of the sky (nebo, obloha),as a variation of cиний (sinij), but rather as a color in its own right, just as green and yellow are different basic colors. Is this true about the Russian mind?

To the English speaking mind, голубой is a "light" or "pale" cиний. I see from www.slovnik.cz that Czech has the same conception. голубой = bledě modrý; and modré obloha = голубоe нeбo.

How about the rest of the Slavic languages? Thank you.

See also
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_colorshttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_colorshttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_colors
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blue

Web colorsblacksilvergraywhiteredmaroonpurplefuchsiagreenlimeoliveyelloworangebluenavytealaqua

• Jana337

čeština
    DaleC said:
    To the English speaking mind, голубой is a "light" or "pale" cиний. I see from www.slovnik.cz that Czech has the same conception. голубой = bledě modrý; and modrá obloha = голубоe нeбo.
    I confirm (with a tiny correction - obloha is feminine, hence modrá).

Jana

MindStorm

Russia, russian
    Yep, there are different words for blue and light blue, they are синий and голубой, that's right. And what so strange about that? they can de easily differentiated int the rainbow specter, maybe it is the reason..

cyanista

законодательница мод
    NRW
    Belarusian/Russian
    For a native speaker of Russian синий and голубой are as different as, for example, red and pink. I remember when I started learning English as a child it was hard for me to put up with the fact that there was no separate English word for голубой.:) We have words that literally mean "light blue", "бледно-синий" or "светло-синий", but these are other hues!

I've thought it over once again:)