palatal assimilation in "mit jelent"

< Previous | Next >

sumelic

English - California
Sziasztok.

I'm just starting to learn Hungarian, and I was studying the full palatal assimilation. From what I understand, this affects tj, dj, nj, lj and tyj, gyj, nyj, lyj, making them sound like tty, gyy, nny, jj respectively. I've heard that it is obligatory within a word. My question is, does this also happen across different words; for example, does the phrase "mit jelent" sound like "mittyelent"? If so, is this obligatory or optional? My main source of information on this so far has been the Wikipedia article on Hungarian phonology.

Köszönöm!

• Zsanna

ModErrata
    Hungarian - Hungary
    Hello sumelic,

As far as I can tell, it (= palatal assimilation) works even in the case you mention.
    As to it being "obligatory" or "optional": I would say neither...

It is obligatory not to write the assimilated form but for the pronunciation..., I would say, there is only "practice" (See also osemnais thread.):
    Either it is not used:

If it is "spellt out" (for showing how to pronouce a word or an expression), there is no assimilation because we make a conscious effort to make the word sound as "clear" as possible. (At the same time it allows to know how the word is spellt.) It obviously involves a special situation. If it is used outside that, the person sounds pedantic and wrong. (It may happen when somebody doesn't know that it is not a mistake to pronounce the assimilated form and that it does not betray a lack of instruction if you do apply it. Non native speakers are allowed to do this and they won't look "thick", on the contrary, they give the impression of wanting to "do their best" which is positive and to be appreciated even if it is "wrong".)

or used: