I don't want to go to school today

lukaa18

English (CAN)/French(CAN)-bilingual
How would you translate this sentence? : "I don't want to go to school today"

• lukaa18

Ayokong pumunta sa eskwela ngayon.

A more colloquial, and more Taglish, way to say it would be Ayokong pumunta sa school ngayon.

Could you help me understand that sentence please? Or more specifically the "Ayokong"? I'm new to Tagalog and I was expecting to see at least a "hindi" or "gusto" somewhere but now I'm confused.

DotterKat

English (American)
    Ayaw is a negator which roughly means does not like or does not desire or not inclined to. Think of it as the opposite of gusto which means does like, desires or is inclined to. Both ayaw and gusto are psedo-verbs.

Ako is a subject pronoun which in English is the subject pronoun I.

Pumunta is the actor-focused form of the verb punta (to go).

Sa is a directional marker (in English, the to preposition of place).

Eskwela means school, a borrowed word from the Spanish escuela. The proper Tagalog word is paaralan. Eskwela is more colloquial.

The core of the sentence is:
    Ayaw (Don't like) + ako (I) + pumunta (to go) + sa (to) + eskwela (school).

Linkers are used to connect a subject pronoun with its predicate. In this case, we need the linker na between ako and pumunta:
    Ayaw ako na pumunta sa eskwela.

In spoken language, ako is frequently shortened to ko. Properly written, it should be 'ko to indicate the dropping of the letter a. Strictly speaking, this would differentiate it from the non-focused pronoun ko.
    Ayaw 'ko na pumunta sa eskwela.

Colloquial speech further simplifies this core sentence by elision and liaison.
    Ayaw + 'ko = Ayoko
    Ayoko na pumunta sa eskwela.

Further simplification in colloquial speech converts the na linker to ng resulting in:
    Ayokong pumunta sa eskwela.