Clear blue, Cool Blue: how vowels work...

< Previous | Next >

ThomasK

Belgium, Dutch
It is very clear that Clear Blue contains the typical contrast and Cool Blue a parallelism, but is there anyone who could refer to sites where background information is given on how such sound symbolism works (vowels, but also consonants).

I studied some phonetics long time ago, know some essentials like the vowel scheme, the key terms, but I'd love to read about how certain vowels are used in (predictable) combinations and why that has some effect.
- It is clear with /[a], I think: the biggest contrast, the most closed (...) versus the most open vowel. Which explains the sound of donkeys braying.
- how come / has some effect??? Does it have to do with the (non-)rounding of the lips?

So I'd like to find illustrations with explanations and more general reference sites.
(a) I have just come across a site on animal noises (like the donkey's sound), and that one is not uninteresting but it ought to be "a tad more techical"... It might be more interesting to compare animal noises to see what they have in common and what they focus on separately...
(b) Loose stories are welcome to if accompanied by some explanation.

• Welsh_Sion

Welsh - Northern
    I'm a lit suspicious, @ThomasK that this thread has no responses as yet as we are not sure what exactly you are asking. I, for one, am happy to put my hand up to accept that position from my own point of view.

I'd be guessing if I could give you an answer of where schwa exists in my own language - there is a fairly regular pattern to this, and you must also remember that schwa can be a stressed vowel or part of syllable in Cymraeg/Welsh, too. This information I'd happily share, but reserve the right to seek more clarity from you first.

Best wishes,

ThomasK

Belgium, Dutch
    Thanks a lor for your reaction, Welsh Sion. So it has happened again... Let me try again...